Jimmy Breslin would have used a phone booth

Warms my heart to see that Capitol coverage is not completely dead, with reporters in Albany phone-conferencing into a last-minute presser by Governor Paterson from a local wine bar.

But shit, Steve Dunleavy must be rolling over in his pre-grave with today’s grad-school-educated journalists drinking at a wine bar. I mean, I know the Palais Royale hasn’t been the same since Rocky passed a few years ago (though apparently the legendary Albany dive-bar has reopened for business again, as the lights were on the other night when I drove by a few weeks ago), and I guess times have changed, but still, a wine bar for reporters? I have to believe, Jimmy Breslin would not approve. Tell me someone ordered a shot or two of Jameson’s, at least.

Leave a Reply

